Profile photo

Jane W

Effective, patient Language Arts tutor with flexible hours
Sacramento, California
Active over a week ago
25 yrs experience
Pay negotiable

Want to connect with Jane?

Get Started Now

Reasons to Hire Me

  • I have tutored hundreds of students with absolute success.
  • My students' writing skills improve after a few lessons.
  • My encouraging teaching style encourages students.

Tutor in Sacramento, California

Teaching in a private school for 19 years gave me the skills to work with each child as a unique individual. The curriculum we used was self-instructional, and the teachers were tutors, giving each child the tools to advance in the curriculum. During those years, I learned to communicate with each student according to the student's individual personality and learning style. Eventually, I started my own private school and trained the teachers in the school to relate to each child with patience and encouragement. While teaching primary students, I developed a unique method to teach sentence and paragraph writing. As students matured, these skills enabled them to write effective essays and research papers. Many of my students have won writing competitions, and several are now authors and editors. In addition to writing skills, I have studied post-graduate courses to teach beginning reading skills. Teaching phonics and reading to younger children brings me great delight as I watch the children discover joy in reading. I am always encouraging and work to build confidence in each child so that each student feels comfortable attempting to read new words. When I studied at Sacramento State University, linguistics and language studies was my area of expertise. My Bachelor of Arts degree is in Spanish, and I especially enjoy working with children of various ethnic backgrounds. My husband and I have worked with Asian people for 24 years, pastoring the Thai Christian Church with members from Thailand, Laos, Cambodia, Vietnam, Japan, and a few other nations. We have been married for 51 years and have 2 children and 10 grandchildren, ages 5-22. Since all of my grandchildren are being homeschooled, I have had the opportunity to tutor each of them. My greatest joy is to teach children of all ages Language Arts so that they are able to excel in communication skills. Building their confidence, as well as their English skills, prepares them for success in school and in life.

Experience

Early development
Elementary school
Secondary school
Casual

Services

Reading
Writing
English
English as a Second Language (ESL)

Training

I have been trained as:
Certified teacher

Share This Profile

Want to connect with Jane?

Get Started Now
Find Tutor in Sacramento, California
More in Sacramento, California

Want to connect with Jane?

Get Started Now