Profile photo

Skylar P

Excellent, Well-Spoken, Spanish/Algebra Tutor
Phoenix, Arizona
Last seen over a week ago
Pay negotiable

Want to connect with Skylar?

Get Started Now

Tutor in Phoenix, Arizona

I recently graduated from NAU having studied Finance and Spanish. I have excellent skills in both Spanish and Math. Spanish is second nature to me. I studied it at NAU after living abroad for two years. I learned the language the way it is spoken as well as academic Spanish so I have a unique sense of the language. I have been speaking for 5 years and have been fluent for 4 of that time. Living in another country without the option of speaking English helped me become fluent quickly. I continue to study the language daily in order to expand my vocabulary and grammar usage. I have taken courses in linguistics and literature which required me to have a strong grasp of grammar principles. I tested out of the majority of required classes. One class required two essays and a 20 minute conversation with a professor of native origins. She told me post test that even native speakers fail to test out of that class. Additionally, we spoke for 45 minutes because she was impressed with my time abroad. Typical assignments were essays from 1-7 pages and reading assignments. My GPA for Spanish is approximately 3.9/4.0. I have background in Finance which requires and extensive use of Algebra. I am able to teach both mental and written math when a calculator is not permitted. I am currently studying for the GMAT exam where I need to score 650-700 in order to attend the graduate schools I would like to. I hope to pursue a Ph.D. in Finance in the next five years. Finance was a great opportunity for me to learn programs like Excel, Word, PowerPoint, Publisher, and Bloomberg Professional. I use these programs on a daily basis and have a thorough knowledge of these programs. As mentioned above I am planning on attending graduate school to pursue a Ph.D in Finance so that I can qualify to teach at a university. Teaching is my passion. My time abroad was spent teaching on a daily basis and it is something that I love to do. I take pride in the work I do and joy in the success of others. I have tutored family and family friends there is a special feeling I get when I hear that they went from a D on prior exams to getting a B on the next one.

Experience

Early development
Elementary school
Secondary school
University/College
Casual

Services

Reading
Math
English
Spanish
English as a Second Language (ESL)
Business

Share This Profile

Want to connect with Skylar?

Get Started Now
Find Tutor in Phoenix, Arizona
More in Phoenix, Arizona

Contact

1100-119 Spadina Ave

Toronto, On

M5V2L1