Profile photo

Heather A

Grade 6-12 Math/Reading/Writing/Much More! Flexible hours/rates.
Tempe, Arizona
Active over a week ago
Pay negotiable

Want to connect with Heather?

Get Started Now

Tutor in Tempe, Arizona

I am interested in working with young adults and children who need or want assistance with academic success. This may be one-on-one, or as a group. I use alternative-learning strategies, in order to avoid the practices of endless lecturing and dry fact memorization. I often enhance the course material with visuals for the student(s), or transform it into concepts that are much more relatable. I occasionally draw on the student's own experiences and perspectives in order to bring the material to life. The following areas are where I can contribute the most assistance and teaching, in no particular order (although math is certainly a strong suit). These all apply to grades 6-12, approximately. Math (all maths up to and including pre-calculus) Writing (creative, professional, and strategies for future writing success) Reading and reading skills American History World History Study skills (the specific course, as well as the effective habits that students need to succeed) Presentations and public speaking Psychology/sociology Note: Although there are certain subjects or classes not listed here, I am very willing to work with the student wherever they are struggling, provided there is a text that we can reference. Transportation: I am willing to drive up to 15 miles to meet the student at a preferred location. My home is available as a study location, although I do have large dogs. Fuel costs will not be included or assessed, should there be any. Rates: Rates are flexible, depending upon if they are individual or group study sessions. Generally, I will expect an offer between $12-20/hour, but this is negotiable. Contract/payment agreements will not be disclosed with third parties. Schedule: I am in my final semester of my degree program, so have a thin but strange spread of classes. My hours are very flexible, and I am willing to arrange a weekly schedule or single session that works for both of us. This is my availability, roughly: Monday/Wednesday/Friday: after 1pm Tuesdays: before noon Thursdays: before noon and after 3pm Weekends: all day Qualifications: I do not have a teaching certification, but I have completed two semesters as a student teaching intern, observing and teaching classes. I've also worked for the AVID tutoring program, which focuses on teaching high school students how to tutor each other and develop analytical thinking. I have worked with students and young adults as a trainer, tutor, or teacher in many other settings as well. My resume is available on request. Biographic Information: Now that you've read all of that, I will describe myself a bit: I am 27 years old, female, and on the last leg of both my Psychology and my Political Science degrees (Bachelor's). I spent two of my university years studying to become a teacher, however, and I still have a sincere passion for that career field. I am a US Army veteran, and I completed a 15 month tour in Iraq six years ago. As far as being a role model goes--I can honestly say that I enjoy reading books more than drinking alcohol, if that helps.

Experience

Elementary school
Secondary school
Casual

Services

Reading
Writing
Math
Geography
English
Spanish
Social science
Study skills

Share This Profile

Want to connect with Heather?

Get Started Now
Find Tutor in Tempe, Arizona
More in Tempe, Arizona

Want to connect with Heather?

Get Started Now