1. Profiles
  2. USA
  3. California
  4. El Cajon

John C

Mathematics tutor for all math subjects ranging from pre-algebra to differential equations.
El Cajon, California
Active over a week ago
23 years exp.
From 40.00/hour

Tutor in El Cajon, California

I'm an
INSTRUCTOR PROFILE I was born in Coldwater, Michigan and received my high school diploma from Coldwater High School. I attended Michigan Technological University for one year and then received an appointment to the United States Naval Academy from which I graduated with a Bachelor of Science Degree in Theoretical Mathematics. I then attended the United States Naval Postgraduate School and earned a Master of Science Degree in Applied Mathematics. Following graduation from the Naval Postgraduate School, I spent 22 years as a naval officer. While on active duty, I served aboard seven ships, one of which, a destroyer, I commanded. Also while on active duty, I served a tour of duty as Associate Chairman of the Mathematics Department at the United States Naval Academy, during which I taught Calculus I, II, and III, Differential Equations, Leadership, and Tactics. I was also the Faculty Advisor to a Midshipman who was a Trident Scholar. In addition, while serving as Executive Officer in a destroyer, I was a part–time teacher in the Navy High School Studies Program. Since retiring from the Navy, I have been an operations manager and program manager for a defense contractor and have held various sales and sales management positions in the financial services industry. Recently (2005- present), on a part-time basis, I have taught Algebra, Statistics, Trigonometry, Calculus, Physics, and Differential Equations at Grossmont Community College and for Vincennes University. I am also an online instructor of Algebra at Ashford University. In my view, a good education goes well beyond providing students with the knowledge and skills needed to make a living. It should also help them understand and appreciate the world around them, and to view learning as a lifelong pursuit. More importantly, I believe that each of us was created in the image and likeness of God to fulfill His purpose for our lives. I believe it is the job of my students to discover and fulfill their purpose in life. My job is to do whatever I can to assist them in navigating through that voyage of discovery. My wife and I have two daughters who are now adults and two children who are adopted: a daughter, age 25, and a son, age 18. We live in Alpine, CA, which is about 20 miles east of San Diego. My interests, other than mathematics and science, include fishing with my 18 year old, gardening, history, poetry, elocution, and the Bible. Contact Info: Home Ph--... Cell Ph--... E-mail: [email protected]*******.com


Secondary school



Share This Profile

Find Tutor in El Cajon, California
More in El Cajon, California