1. Profiles
  2. USA
  3. Washington
  4. Seattle

Emily G

No reviews yet
PIANO LESSONS (in your home or online)!
Seattle, Washington
Active over a week ago
From 75.00/hour

Tutor in Seattle, Washington

I'm an
Individual
My name is Emily and I am a piano teacher in Sammamish and Issaquah! Throughout my 14 years tutoring, I have taught children and adults of all age ranges; the only prerequisite is a love for music and a willingness to learn! I teach all skill levels, from no experience to very advanced, including those with learning and behavioral difficulties. I am classically trained in the Suzuki method, modern jazz, composition, arrangement, performance, theory, technique, curriculum design and more. My biggest reward is cultivating progress and joy in each and every student, whether it's by encouraging them in their strengths or challenging them in their weaknesses. Moreover I create individualized lesson plans for all students that reflects each person’s unique set of goals and past experience. Want to learn to play a pop song you heard on the radio? I can teach you! Have you always wanted to learn to play Fur Elise, but have struggled to figure it out on your own? I can help you there too! I know that piano lessons are sometimes hard work, and so to make things a bit more fun I give stickers to younger students for passing songs! I have found that students practice more when lessons are enjoyable, so I’ll always let you work on 1 song of your choice. I pair that with a 2nd song of my choice (designed to improve a specific skill like sight reading or fingering). During the lesson I'll give you supplemental activities like a technique exercise or a weekly theory assignment. I have a Culinary Arts degree from the University of Alaska Anchorage and graduated Summa Cum Laude. Though my true passion is teaching, I have owned my own catering business, worked in 5 star restaurants, served private clients as a personal chef, and taught baking and cooking classes for all ages, all the while consistently tutoring piano students on the side. I have an excellent work ethic, am very reliable, and have a happy/optimistic demeanor. Because of my variety of jobs, I work well with children, teens, and adults alike. Please contact me with any questions! I look forward to hearing from you. :) Rates are $150/month for half-hour weekly lessons. Potentially more depending on driving distance.
Gallery Photo
Gallery Photo
Gallery Photo

Services

Music

Share This Profile

Find Tutor in Seattle, Washington
More in Seattle, Washington